top of page

Seek Out a Team

What I Learned In School Today: Administration doesn’t have to be isolating. Seek out a team.

I am fortunate to work with two other assistant principals in my district, both of whom are experienced, knowledgeable, and genuinely care about kids. Upon entering into administration, I worried that I would feel isolated, as that was a sentiment that had been shared with me on multiple occasions by other building leaders. Fortunately, I have not had that experience and am lucky enough to work as part of a genuine team.

It’s possible that working on a team was never critical to my daily professional success. I’m an introvert and often find my most productive and comfortable time to be working independently. Still, it has be crucial to my success to have people who I feel comfortable asking questions, depend upon, and collaborate with meaningfully. Additionally, my fellow assistant principals have more experience in administrative positions and in our district than me, so they are acutely aware of how to get things done each day. Now in my second year, my contributions to the team are far greater than before as I have a better handle on the expectations of the job and a deeper understanding of the strengths and needs of our district.

If you enter an administrative role, be aware that it may feel a bit lonely, at least more so than in teaching, but it does not have to be isolating. Don’t hesitate to look for the high caliber people in your school or district who may also want to be part of a team and connect with them. Chances are they are ready to work together.


bottom of page