top of page

Respect the Parents' Perspective

What I Learned In School Today: Respect the parents' perspective

I had a terrific meeting with the parents of a second grader today. They were asking about a new program we are using in our school and wanted to discuss their daughter’s progress and overall school experience. At the end of the conversation, the dad actually thanked me for a productive conversation and for my openness to their thoughts and concerns.

It's interesting that I was thanked for the conversation with these parents. Truthfully, they were very nice people and talking with them was a pleasure. It's says something about of schools and society that caring, respectful discourse is not the norm. It is possible to have a conversation about a genuine issue without emotion taking over and ego dominating. Respect and care go a long way when talking with people. Don't forget those important character traits.


bottom of page